New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

New iMac vs. New Mini vs. Used G4

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

o0LiquidDark0o

o0LiquidDark0o is on a distinguished road

Hello, guys. I'm glad to have become a member here and I am hoping that some of you might help me out with a decision that I have to make.

As a student of video production, I've been working on Macs for the past 4 years. Now that I'm nearing the end of my college education I've been presented with some great opportunities to do freelance production work. So, it's time for me to finally buy a Mac. I'm really considering three options here:

- Used dual 1.25ghz PowerMac G4. 256mb RAM. 80GB hard drive. DVD-RW.
- $849 + $65 (wireless card) = $914

- New 1.83ghz Mini Mac. 512mb RAM. 80GB hard drive. DVD-RW.
- $779 + $110 (2GB RAM) + $150 (23" monitor) = $1,039

- New 17-inch 2.0ghz iMac. 1GB RAM. 160GB hard drive. DVD-RW.
- $1,099 + $110 (2GB RAM) = $1,209

*Mini Mac and iMac prices are with student discount.

I would upgrade the machine to 2GB of RAM regardless of which I choose. I like the idea of getting the used G4 because:
- I can save quite a bit of money.
- I already have 2GB of spare RAM for the G4.
- I can install my spare hard drive in it.
- I already have two spare monitors for my dual-monitor setup.