New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac - G3 - switching out logicboard & hard drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Paddler123

Paddler123 is on a distinguished road

Hi all.

I'm pretty new at this, so any help is probably great help.

I'm getting ready to replace the logicboard in an imac g3 slot loading but no firewire. 350 mhz i think.

i bought one from ebay (of course) to get firewire capabilities.

i've read somewhere that sometimes the newer hard drives take too much power from these old computers and they have a hard time booting with all the new stuff. how will i know if i'm ok? i'm also going to upgrade the hard drive too.

i also need some link to a walkthrough of sorts. as in, step by step, even what do i do once i close the thing back up and need to load the software. just stick the disks in and let it go? thanks for humoring me.

GB
QUOTE Thanks
bryphotoguy

bryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nice
Mac Specs: Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone

Hey-
Did you get the CD I sent you yet?
I would recommend putting in the logic board, HD, and RAM all in at once. Do a PRAM reset (Option, Apple, P, R) on startup and let it reset. Shove in the OS9 cd and load it to the HD. Upgrade the firmware and install OS X 10.4.9.