Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   question about powermac g4 ram (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/62306-question-about-powermac-g4-ram.html)

ibookclamman300 05-11-2007 09:33 PM

question about powermac g4 ram
 
I have seen a picture of the motherboard in a g4 an it looks like it has 4 ram slots, but why does it only support up to 2gb of ram? Does it just not detect any stick with more than 512mb?

SuB8HaVeN 05-11-2007 11:13 PM

It depends on which G4 you are talking about; some have 3 and some have 4 memory slots. As far as the maximum supported memory, a lot of times this has more to do with the chipset's memory controller. If it only supports up to 2GB, then it will only support up to 2GB no matter how many memory slots there are. A lot of times you can use larger modules, but the maximum supported memory is the same. For example, sometimes if there are 4 DIMM memory slots, and it only supports 2GB, you can use 2X 1GB modules, but if you use say 4X 1GB it will only recognize 2GB, or it won't boot.

ibookclamman300 05-12-2007 08:39 AM

thanks


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.