Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Extremely Slow imac (Help Please)

I recently bought a new imac. It is starting to run extremely slow. When I do anything on the computer it can take up to 5 minutes. Just to get the dock to pop up takes several minutes. Even to type a letter on a document will take awhile. I am not sure what is happening. This just happened all of a sudden. I don't use the Internet very often, so I would be very surprised if it was a virus. Anybody have any ideas of what is going on?

Try downloading Onyx and clean your cacheout it also cleans a lot of other stuff.

I am kind of new to all this but I just started cleaning once a week. I will try to find the link for it.

Specs:
    i-mac dual-core 2.16Ghz 24inch, Macbook 2.4Ghz alu, 27" iMac Core 2 Duo 3.06Ghz
    www.atomicbird.com Has a program called macaroni that works in the background tidying things up (all the cached and useless language files etc) that seems to work well an you can schedule it yourself.
    Also I know the mac can be used for multitasking but there is a finite number of programs that can be opened at the same time.

Specs:
    Mac Book Pro. 2.4Ghz Intel Core Duo running OSX 10.9.3, 8GB Ram
    You should probably check your permissions as well. Run Disk utility (Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility)
    Choose your Hard drive then click Verify Disk Permissions. It takes a while then click on repair if necessary.
    Should help. There's also Mac Janitor, like Onyx.
    Sim

Specs:
    Mac Pro 2.66 - 4 Gig Ram, iMac G5 2 Gig ram 20"
    Quote Originally Posted by nesp03 View Post