New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac Pro - Memory upgrade for Mac Pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

statuko

statuko is an unknown at this point

Hi Guys,

I'm going to buy my Mac Pro soon, the basic one with 1Go of Ram. I'm a newbie in this Mac world. I saw that I can find 2Go of Ram (2 x 1Go) for a good price to upgrade to 3Go (2x512Mo and 2x1Go). I would like to know if it's not a problem for the computer to have 2x512Mo and 2x1Go ? On the Mac store they sell just 1Go, 2Go, 4Go, 8Go and 16Go. Is there a reason ? I really want to be sure before doing anything. It's a lot of money.

Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
rman

rman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 2 x 3.0GHz Quad-Core, 6GB OS X 10.6.8 | 15in MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OS X 10.6.8 | 64GB iPad 2 WiFi

You should not have a problem. I believe the rule stil is that you must install the memory as matched set or pair. meaning that if you are installing 1GB then you will use two 512MB memory sticks, of you are installing 2GB you use to 1GB memory stick.

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It's about learning to dance in the rain!
QUOTE Thanks
statuko

Thanks rman.