Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Thinking of adding RAM - one question 1st (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/54573-thinking-adding-ram-one-question-1st.html)

MrChris 02-23-2007 05:14 AM

Thinking of adding RAM - one question 1st
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,

My iMac currently has 1GB RAM (2X512 modules). I'm still loving it but was thinking of giving it a boost by adding another 1GB memory.

However, when I look at the system profiler it shows that I have 2 modules already installed. One on bank 0 and one on bank 1 (see attached image).

I was just wondering if I will have space to add another 1GB module without having to take any out?

Also, I know that some motherboards, when the RAM is full reduce the overall operating speed of the RAM. Is this true in the iMac's case?

Regards,

Chris :mac:

eric 02-23-2007 05:35 AM

ideally, you should add two matched sticks in the two slots you have (i'm 99% sure you only have two). you could add one 1G stick in place of one of your 512 sticks, but you will most likely only see speed increases in non-graphics intensive programs. graphics intensive programs for some reason like matched pairs.

there are a few threads about this matching phenomenon - i'll try to dig one up.


edit
here's one: http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/38937-ram-question-identical-sticks-mismatched-sticks.html

MrChris 02-23-2007 06:03 AM

Thanks for the input,

I will consider this. But the "Bank 0" - does that mean that the 512 Module on that bank is soldered to the motherboard?

Also, If I were to get more memory from a different retailer than Apple, say Crucial. Would it affect my Apple Care at all?

Regards,

Chris :mac:

eric 02-23-2007 06:23 AM

no, memory banks typically start at 0.
it's just two dimms in two slots.

installing memory should not void your warranty at all - it's considered user serviceable.

MrChris 02-23-2007 06:30 AM

I see,

Thanks again, I may consider buying the following:

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpar...5FD16EA5CA7304

eric 02-23-2007 06:33 AM

i'm considering doing the same with my macbook (1Gb to 2Gb) - might make up for the lack of dedicated graphics. ;)

MrChris 02-23-2007 06:38 AM

Well I use Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver a lot and edit the odd movie now and then. My iMac is by no means slow, and I know that at present Photoshop is running through Rosetta (so are Flash and Dreamweaver I think?) but I figured that extra RAM can't be a bad thing either way!

Is Crucial a half decent make to go with? I have used them when system building in the past but I have never upgraded memory on a Mac before.

Regards,

Chris.

eric 02-23-2007 06:53 AM

whew. you'll get a lot of different answers - just search memory on these forums, there's lots of threads with personal accounts of a bunch of different outlets (crucial is certainly fine though).

MartinS 02-23-2007 06:54 AM

I'm sure iMacs come with two 512gb sticks. If you want to upgrade to 2gb you have to ditch the existing RAM. Try selling it on eBay; that's what I did when I upgraded my mini.

Check it out: http://www.gearlive.com/index.php/ne...ever-01271218/

I've bought several lots of RAM from Crucial in the past; always very good.

Drpepper99uk 02-23-2007 12:06 PM

Hello,

Great topic, I have been considering purchasing the 2GB single stick of RAM however I find the price offputting to say the least. Is there any other UK sites that offer 2GB RAM single stick at a cheaper price? At present I only have 1GB in my 20" iMac Core 2 Duo(I assume it has 2x512MB sticks inside?)

Michael.

MrChris 02-23-2007 05:37 PM

I have made my purchase! Yey, lol

I have gone for 2GB (2X1GB) Crucial Modules.

Can't wait to get them in my iMac now! I hope its a noticeable speed difference.

I will post a mini-review of the advantages of an extra 1GB RAM once I have installed it and had a play around if it will be useful to anyone.

As I said before, I will be using programs like Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, garage band and video editing now and then.

Regards,

Chris :mac:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.