New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac Pro - Mac Pro RAM questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Icicle

Icicle is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MacPro 2 x 3Ghz Dual Core Nvidia 8800, 7 gigs ram Macbook pro 2011 Intel i7 triple boots Ubuntu/Win7

Wow, Im new to this whole 2 processor thing I guess.....

DO I have to buy 2 DIMMs in order to pop them in my new 3.0 Ghz Mac pro?

I bought one http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820161044 and My computer isnt recognizing it at all unless I pop it into one of the slots in place of a stock one, and then it only recognizes 512MB of it (assuming because thats all the other stock one left in is?)

So, to clarify, I assume I need two? and they need to be in the second set of DIMMs right? (2 on top card, 2 on bottom card)

Can I just go to COMPUSA and buy another one? or do I need to order the exact same one from newegg so they match?

Thanks guys, I thought I was pretty good at this stuff, I think I just got a wake up slap from the tech gods....

Kevin, Spokane Washington USA
QUOTE Thanks
Alexis

Alexis is a jewel in the roughAlexis is a jewel in the roughAlexis is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo

It says server RAM, which may be causing the problem?
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay