New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Im New to Imac was a PC user

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sexymuffin

sexymuffin is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Imac 1ghz 256mb ram

Hello this is my 1st post.

Ive won an Imac. Yipee!!!
Im a PC user and have only used an apple computer once before 5 years ago. I tried the one Ive won today in PCWORLD and its very stylish and swish but aint got the foggiest what I can do with it.
I use my PC currently for burning DVD/CD's and internet as Ive got a PS2 for gaming.

The one Ive won is the 999 quid cheapest current imac model.

So questions:

Will my software from my PC work on it?
Such as Microsoft office 97/2000?

It comes with an internal 56k modem but Ive got BT broadband- will it be as simple as plugging my adsl modem into the usb port installing the BT software and going online?

Ive just bough an internal DVD writer which I would like to install in my new IMAC but I doubt this can be done- the new IMAC comes with CD-RW/DVD-ROM combo driver but I would prefer DVD-r capability. Is it possible to buy upgrades from APPLE?

What features has my new IMAC got which a PC has not apart from looking prettier?

Any other information is aprreciated which could be relevant.

Last question do you think I'l ever change back to PC.

Cheers sorry for all the questions
QUOTE Thanks
trpnmonkey41