New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

mini - Upgrading Mac mini HDD

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

alucard

alucard is a jewel in the roughalucard is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz Intel Xeon W/3GB Ram & 250GB HDD

I am new to the Mac world and just bought a Mac mini on ebay and was wondering if their are any documents or web sites on upgrading the hard drive? I have a 300GB SATA 7400 RPM drive that I would like to replace the factory hard drive with but i dont want to break anything.

I have been building and upgrading PC's for over 14 years and i am very familiar with the inside of a computer but i am not familiar with the mini.

Thanks for any help.
QUOTE Thanks
UnaClocker

UnaClocker is on a distinguished road

The MacMini uses a 2.5" hard drive, not 3.5"..
QUOTE Thanks
makwanad

makwanad will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: eMac 1gb RAM 80gb HD, Superdrive, iPod video 30gb

go to ifixit they give you step by step and diagrams on how to take apart the mini and replace the HD

Back with the mac!
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich