New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

PowerMac G3 B&W RAM issues

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Benreed

Hi guys, im a newbie to these forums but I couldn't solve my problem anywhere else!!

Here is my problem, I hav a G3 B&W Powermac and have recently purchased some new RAM for it and installed Tiger. It came with 256mb (Apple) RAM included, this i took out and put in 768mb of new RAM in bought from OEMPCWORLD.

I have noticed that both sets of RAM are not recognized in the system profiler, when you open the "About this Mac" window it recognizes it has the correct amount of RAM, but when you delve deeper and click on Memory within system profiler it tells me that it knows which slot has ram inserted but not how fast or what type of RAM it is, unlike my iBook G4 which does both.

This wouldnt be a problem but the G3 is constantly crashing, big crashes so that the mouse and keyboard become unresponsive and the only thing I can think of that may be causing it is the RAM.

Anybody ever experienced anything similar? if so i would be curious to know how you overcame it!

Cheers

Ben
QUOTE Thanks
D3v1L80Y