Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Powermac G4 Motherboard (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/292706-powermac-g4-motherboard.html)

MrImposibru 01-04-2013 09:18 PM

Powermac G4 Motherboard
 
hey im new to the whole mac desktops regime i got a powermac g4 and i find its processor to be lacking (1.25ghz single core) i would like to know if it were possible to upgradable to a AMD bulldozer 6 core 3.30 ghz heres a link to where i am buying it AMD Bulldozer FX-6100 Socket AM3+ 6 Core Processor - 3.30GHz, 3.90GHz Turbo: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
im trying to upgrade into a gaming monster for example ive already uped the ram to 32gb and 4 1tb hdds

harryb2448 01-04-2013 09:51 PM

G'day and welcome to the forums.

Have a read of this in particular post #6. With an old PowerPC hardly worth the expense:-

Upgrading Power Mac G4 Logic Board - MacRumors Forums

bobtomay 01-04-2013 09:52 PM

No...

MrImposibru 01-04-2013 09:57 PM

so ill have to just save my money to buy a windows machine :P another question what is the highes spec processor i could put in this old g4?

pigoo3 01-04-2013 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrImposibru (Post 1484431)
hey im new to the whole mac desktops regime i got a powermac g4 and i find its processor to be lacking (1.25ghz single core) i would like to know if it were possible to upgradable to a AMD bulldozer 6 core 3.30 ghz heres a link to where i am buying it AMD Bulldozer FX-6100 Socket AM3+ 6 Core Processor - 3.30GHz, 3.90GHz Turbo: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
im trying to upgrade into a gaming monster for example ive already uped the ram to 32gb and 4 1tb hdds

Not only is it totally impossible to install an Intel cpu into a Powermac G4 (Macintosh computers are not like Windows computers)...but this topic does not belong in the "Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac" section of Mac-Forums.

Thread moved to more appropriate location.

- Nick

pigoo3 01-04-2013 10:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrImposibru (Post 1484446)
so ill have to just save my money to buy a windows machine :P another question what is the highes spec processor i could put in this old g4?

The stock 1.25ghz cpu in the Powermac G4 you have is just about the fastest cpu that came in stock Powermac G4's. There was also a 1.42ghz cpu model...but it may not be worth it financially. There were also cpu upgrade cards sold by 3rd party vendors...and these will still cost you $150-$200+. You would be much better off buying a Powermac G5 than spending money on an old Powermac G4.

- Nick


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.