Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Imac 2011 upgrade (SSD, memory ?) (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/287999-imac-2011-upgrade-ssd-memory.html)

LBM 10-29-2012 02:37 PM

Imac 2011 upgrade (SSD, memory ?)
 
Hi there, I have a IMAC 27" 2011 (2.7 Core I5, 4GB 1333 DDR3) and have been using Imovie a lot lately, keeping other software open (Safari, Mail). In this situation there are times when the computer stops for a while or gets slow for some time. I would like to know if by installing a SSD would eliminate the problema and, if positive, what would be the drive specification and how to install it (any tutorial ?). One other point, would additional memory would also help in this case ? If positive, what would be the specification ?

Thanks a lot in advance,
LBM

Raz0rEdge 10-29-2012 02:53 PM

Before you go down the SSD route, you should upgrade the memory to more than 4GB. You can go to a maximum of 32GB, and since you have 4GB (2x2GB) right now, you have 2 slots available, so I'd recommend the 2x8GB for 16GB, so you'll have 20GB total and see how well you fare..

With more available memory, you will need to go to your slow HD less for data since it'll be available in memory..OWC has 16GB available for $109.99..

harryb2448 10-29-2012 04:49 PM

Do as RazorEdge suggests and beef up the memory. Our model iMacs are designed not to be cracked by non Apple technicians. The hard drive has a proprietary heat sensing system built in that is not to be messed with. You do not give your location, however OWC has a service for installing SSD. You send the iMac in an d they send it back with the SSD. The only thing I have found slow was the boot process coming from a Mac Pro with SSD. o get around this purchased an iBox uninterrupted power supply, and just put the iMac to sleep.


http://www.macworld.com/article/1159...veupgrade.html

LBM 10-30-2012 07:47 AM

Hi there, thanks for your answers. One thing I have noticed, however, is that, according to the machine manual (the booklet that comes with the computer), tha maximum memory suported would be 16 GB. Is that correct ?

Thanks again.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.