New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus ē Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts ē Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Is a mid 2007 imac a good deal? Or is it too old?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

claire145

claire145 is on a distinguished road

Hey, I really need as much help as I can get. I'm hoping to buy my first imac but I'm on such a budget that I've been looking at a used mid 2007 model 24", 2gb, 2.4ghz and 320gb for £400. I'm a design student and heavily use photoshop and other adobe software, would this computer be efficent enough for it? I was hoping to upgrade to 6gb ram so do you think it would be fast enough?
I'm really worried that with it being 5 years old it might not have much time left? I'd want it for about 3-4 years and I've hurd mountain lion will be the last update.
I've also found some used 2010 imacs for £600 even though thisnis completely out of my budget do you think I should save up and be looking for slightly newer models?
My plan was to only spend £400 on the imac 2007 and possibly splash out after christmas on an sdd drive and have a computer shop fix it in for me and then in a couple of years when I'm in a better financial situation buy a brand new one from apple and sell my 2007 with a profit hopefully if I've upgraded it.
Any thoughts please help
iMac
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7