Spinning beachball and reinstalling the system
    Hi all. I have a fairly cranky old iMac (black back, 3.06 Ghz) and I'm getting the ol' spinning beach ball with alarming regularity. I'm a designer so I often have Photoshop, Illustrator and Flash (CS5) all open at once and that seems to be the chief cause.

A techy friend of mine told me that the best thing to do is a clean re-install of the system and progs. Is this correct? I have the key for CS5 and my system is backed up in its entirety via Time Machine, the main issue is that I'm running LION but only have the Leopard install disk.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Specs:
    Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
    How much RAM have you got. I have found that often when one program in the CS5 suite starts acting up it ends up beach-balling the other programs

Also, how many fonts have you got open, I periodically purge my fonts and reactivate them when needed to stop font usage spiralling out of control
    Member of the Month September 2008 & August 2012 | Found advice useful? use the rep system

With Lion, you have a hidden recovery partition from which to reinstall OS X. Hold Option key down after startup sound in order to see it as a startup choice.

Reinstalling the OS to fix things is a common technique used by people handicapped by being "Windows Experts." You would need to do that if you intentionally removed random OS components. Or, if you've had a power outage that damaged your hard drive. In other words - in Very rare cases.

Check how much hard drive free space you have. (Highlight drive - get Info) You need 10-15% of the drive available. OS X uses this extra space as "swap space" - temp space when moving things around in RAM memory. With those applications running, I'd guess OS X wants 25 GB min for this purpose.

Repair your hard drive - start in the recovery partition, then use Disk Utility to repair the main partition.