New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

problem with iMac 24

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

markyb

markyb is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Imac 27 3.8, Ipad 3, MacBook Pro 15"retina, iPhone 5

hi
I'm new to mac
bought a 2nd hand mac a few weeks ago
imac 24 with 8gb ram 1tb had radian 130
anyway been having a few issues with freeing recently
had a read through a few forums and help pages
tried a few things but to no avail
i don't have any discs with it, and it looks like the recover hd is not intact
so I cant reinstall from that . and as a result i can't run the hardware diagnostics
read somewhere that holding down the option key whilst clicking the buy button for lion {app store ) will give you the option to get the downloader free to help make a recovery hd. however it did not work for me. well it did so but I'm now downloading lion and i guess I've been charged for it
i got time machine running since day one of buying it
so when lion downloads can i just reinstall it. or is it not as easy as that
QUOTE Thanks
harryb2448