Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Is it supposed to show something.... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/275082-supposed-show-something.html)

lijrobert 05-17-2012 05:23 PM

Is it supposed to show something....
 
I found a PowerMac G4 in the trash and got ram today,It has no harddrive BTW, so I put the ram in and connected it to a monitor through VGA. When I turned it on I heard the bong but nouthing on the screen. Is the graphics card broken.
Its a AGP graphics

dtravis7 05-17-2012 05:52 PM

There should be a label on the back with the shipping specs. Post those if you can so we know what machine you found.

One quick thing to try. Do you have a keyboard plugged in? Is it an Apple keyboard? If it's an Apple one, right after that startup sound, hold and keep down the following keys, Command+Option+P+R. Hold down all 4 keys right after that sound and wait for two more startup sounds. That resets the PRAM.

Since you say the video card is AGP, Is it seated all the way in the AGP socket on the board?

The Startup sound is a good sign as it's probably passing the RAM you installed.


If the keyboard you are using is a Windows keyboard, Hold down: Control+ALT+P+R like above.

lijrobert 05-17-2012 06:20 PM

The model
 
The model is AGP Graphics Model (when I looked up the serial) I will try a pram reset and make sure the gcard in. I will remind you though, THIS HAS NO OS INSTALLED just incase

lijrobert 05-17-2012 06:31 PM

The PRAM Reset Worked

lijrobert 05-17-2012 06:32 PM

Thank you
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dtravis7 (Post 1406176)
There should be a label on the back with the shipping specs. Post those if you can so we know what machine you found.

One quick thing to try. Do you have a keyboard plugged in? Is it an Apple keyboard? If it's an Apple one, right after that startup sound, hold and keep down the following keys, Command+Option+P+R. Hold down all 4 keys right after that sound and wait for two more startup sounds. That resets the PRAM.

Since you say the video card is AGP, Is it seated all the way in the AGP socket on the board?

The Startup sound is a good sign as it's probably passing the RAM you installed.


If the keyboard you are using is a Windows keyboard, Hold down: Control+ALT+P+R like above.

This worked

dtravis7 05-18-2012 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lijrobert (Post 1406194)
This worked

Glad to hear that got it running for you. Keep us posted and have fun with your G4.

pigoo3 05-18-2012 02:00 AM

OP has mentioned that this computer has no hard drive in it (and thus of course has absolutely no operating system)...so I'm kind of confused how successful this exercise was...other than getting a grey screen with the flashing "?".:Confused:

Am I missing something??

- Nick

lijrobert 05-18-2012 02:08 AM

Explanation....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pigoo3 (Post 1406283)
OP has mentioned that this computer has no hard drive in it (and thus of course has absolutely no operating system)...so I'm kind of confused how successful this exercise was...other than getting a grey screen with the flashing "?".:Confused:

Am I missing something??

- Nick

The problem was that there was no flashing screen


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.