Needing online and just general back-up recommendations
    Hi,
    I have two iMacs and a MacBook Pro. I am an avid photographer, and recently made a horrible mistake and probably lost tons of photos...

I would love to hear your recommendations for:
    1. General back up advice
    2. Specific online back up recommendations

Thanks so very much!

Specs:
    27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.11, Mac Mini i5 (2014), iPhone6s, Apple Watch, iPad Air 2, New AppleTV (4?)
    I use Picasa on my Mac and backup all my photos online to Picasaweb, it's easy to use, accessible on pretty much any platform without bespoke software and provides an online backup to compliment my local, physical backup.

I have a friend the swears by Carbonite for online backups
    Not been around these parts for a while. Trying to change that . .

Please use the reputation system if you think you've been helped - bottom left of this post

Specs:
    Mid-2012 MBP (16GB, 1TB HD), Monoprice 24-inch second monitor, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Air 2 64GB
    I have several external drives beside me:

1. A Time Machine drive
    2. A clone backup drive
    3. A "media" drive
    4. A backup to the "media" drive

I've never liked Picasa and Google is ... well, another topic for another day. You might want to look into Flickr Pro.

Born in Scotland, Worked in Scotland then England, Now live in Wales
    Specs:
    Late 2015 5K 27-inch Retina iMac, 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 1TB Flash Drive, El Capitan, 10.11.5
    I'm with chas on this.

Time Machine (TM) is the simplest to set up and, after the first copy, backs up hourly and so on, totally in the background. Easy to retrieve individual files or folders; there to provide a complete restore on to a new Mac or new IHD.

Like chas, I have a clone backup drive (in my case using SuperDuper!, but there are others). The great advantage of these is that they create a bootable drive.