Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Password for Apple Desktop (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/272429-password-apple-desktop.html)

ronpeck 04-14-2012 09:39 PM

Password for Apple Desktop
 
I do not usually have a password on my computers but I do need one now on my new AppleMac 27" with Lion 10.7...I have set a password for login and this is working OK.. but I do not wish to have to put in the password every time change something in he system when I am already logged in.!!?
Is there a way around this that I am missing?
Thanks,
ronpeck

chscag 04-14-2012 09:56 PM

No way around that once you've assigned an Administrator password. Even if you hadn't previously assigned one the pop up would still come up and you would have to enter a null response. (press enter)

ronpeck 04-14-2012 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chscag (Post 1394557)
No way around that once you've assigned an Administrator password. Even if you hadn't previously assigned one the pop up would still come up and you would have to enter a null response. (press enter)

Yeh! Thanks.. looks like I am stuck.. could go back in time but that does not solve my problem with security..so any way thank you..ronpeck

chas_m 04-15-2012 03:04 AM

The admin password should not come up unless you are installing software or making changes to the system, something most people do very very infrequently if at all.

The admin password requirement is the NUMBER ONE reason why Macs don't have viruses.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.