New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac has A LOT of free RAM

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

slowpoke86

slowpoke86 is on a distinguished road

Hello all,

This is my first time posting on here. Have used your valuable advice many times, so I'm hoping that there is someone out there that can help me.

Basically, I have a late 2009 iMac with 12GB RAM. When I go to "About this Mac", it recognizes that I have 12GB. My system should be blazing, but upon inspection, it is only using 3GB. At the moment I am converting a movie, running Safari, and playing music on iTunes. That being said, there is still 9GB of free RAM. Is there anything I can do to fix this?
QUOTE Thanks
Chuckoir

Chuckoir is a jewel in the roughChuckoir is a jewel in the roughChuckoir is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 13" Late 2011 MBP,iPad '3' 32gb,iPhone4 32gb

Why would you need to fix this? Just because your computer has 12GB at its disposal, that doesn't mean it should be using ALL of it, ALL of the time.

Think of it like a car - which has x amount of BHP. If you're pootling around town, you won't be using all your horses. Only when you open up the throttle will you use more power. Same goes for your Mac.

Not the best analogy, I know, but hopefully explains what's going on!

Play the guitar?! Check out the [newly created]Mac-Forums guitar thread!
QUOTE Thanks
Slydude