Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Uninstall Win 7 VM (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/264100-uninstall-win-7-vm.html)

ronpeck 01-19-2012 08:39 AM

Uninstall Win 7 VM
 
Hi!..I was trying to change the resolution in win nothing but trouble freezing and mouse not working properly ...managed to shut down using arrow keys
I reckon I need to uninstall win 7 ..going back with time machine is not fixing the problem for some reason.. the problem happened about 7.pm, so i have tried 3.30 pm backup and also 1.30 pm from the time machine and neither of these installs fixed the problem..so will opp for a new install of win 7.. and perhaps parallels a well..
So My question is How do you uninstall win 7 ? or do you delete files and then reinstall win7 or do you have to uninstall Parallels 7 as well??.. Reading parallels uninstall notes its appears that the files for win 7 are retained??
Please someone enlighten me..( well experienced in windows but Mac is all new to me)

mrplow 01-19-2012 08:53 AM

OK.

Out of interest how were you trying to change the resolution in windows?
Do you normally run the VM full screen or in a window?

Here's inon removing/deleting a VM in Parallels KB Parallels: How to uninstall/delete a Virtual Machine

You do not need to uninstall parallels.

ronpeck 01-19-2012 01:46 PM

Uninstall Win
 
Hi! Thanks for your reply.
Had a look at this and it does come up with a dialog box after you hit remove asking if you wish to keep the file or put it into the trash? Does that mean that if you then reinstall you would have another file to go back too at some time in the future!!
Another question that is worrying me. Iis this VM not being covered by the "Time Machine"? and if not how can you do back ups of it?
Sorry if these seem stupid questions but although I am very experienced with Win I am totally new to Mac.
Changing the Resolution in Win. you can either go via "Control Panel/Display" or right click anywhere on the screen a dialog box comes up and click on "Screen Resolution"
Thanks again,
ronpeck

ronpeck 01-19-2012 06:41 PM

I have been onto the parallels chat.. and found out how to restore win to an earlier time without effecting Lion OS.. using the pvm file also now able to backup win to an exterior disk.. via the pvm file..
So the problem is solved for now
thanks again,
ronpeck

mrplow 01-20-2012 01:09 AM

Glad you got sorted


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.