New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Can't Repair Disc Permissions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

StymieMotJuste

StymieMotJuste is on a distinguished road

I'm a video/audio editor and am at the end of my diagnoisic accumen.

I have a computer that takes a day to boot, and then just hangs on the pinwheel. I have tried everything I know to fix it, and now need a real technician.

Here are the specs

G5 quad core PowerMac 2005(late) (not Intel)
4gigs ram
I think my processor speed is 1.87

Problem:

Computer unresponsive.
Verified disc permissions on boot drive - verified something was wrong and needed to repair disc permissions
Tried to repair disc permissions on the hard drive I boot from. After a day and a half no progress had been made. Repair hung on the horizontal blue barber pole.

Then, I manually inserted the install disc and ran Repair disc permissions from the utilities menu, again, repair did not progress.

Test the hardware, everything passed.
reset pram

Tried to boot, took a day and a half, again, tried to run Repair Disc Permissions, but it did not work.

Booted from Install, tried to repair disc permissions, did not work.

I've repeated the steps above several times, now I end up at what looks like DOS when I boot. and the screen says, "disk timeout"

At one point two red lights were lit on the logic board, but have not recreated the situation again.