New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

moving from a mini to an imac g5

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

briang

briang is on a distinguished road

I ordered my imac today. What's the best way to make the move? the mini was my first mac, so i'm kind of new to it, but can i just drag and drop from a cloned copy of my mini? will that work for apps? what about mail?
QUOTE Thanks
DCraver

DCraver is a jewel in the roughDCraver is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: iMac G5

iPod.

For me I all really wanted to save was my Movies, Music, and a few documents. Just enable Disk Use, drag files on to Mr. Pod there and you're good.

I hear .Mac's Back-Up thing is good too.

Anywho, iPod is the wasiest way in my opinion.

When you hook it up to the G5, just drag and drop the files into the correct files. I'll assume you know how to load songs onto iTunes.

If you need any other help with that, I've moved stuff alot back and forth between my computers. Just hit me with an IM on my .Mac account.
QUOTE Thanks
briang

that probably won't get the mail though. i'd like this to be as seamless as possible.
QUOTE Thanks
Avalon

Avalon is just really niceAvalon is just really niceAvalon is just really niceAvalon is just really nice
Mac Specs: PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB