New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac minis; old vs new

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

HillDx

HillDx is on a distinguished road

Mac Mini's look neat. I'm watching the classifieds and craigslist to keep an eye on them, and make my move to Mac.

Since i'm new to Mac, i'm not sure where to go.

The old G4 MM are definately affordable, but then i also have interest in the intel core 2 duo as well, as I don't believe the G4 are dual core ?

I am also not certain what OS to consider, but I think Leopard or SnowL would be advisable.

My uses would be primarily;

- torrent box
- htpc using xbmc
- hosting some apache, some blogs, a forum, and video / audio streaming. <Low usage.>
- probably doing a bit of video editing of my own recordered movies, once i figured out the OS more, and some of the apps.

If you those who are experienced with the hardware can point me in some directions. Also, what kind of ram usage might i need for OSX, and if you're recommending earlier models, can it be easily upgraded like my PC ?
QUOTE Thanks

613 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: G4 Cube 450MHz, MacBook Air 11" 2013, iMac 21.5" i3, iPad 1,1 32GB

A couple points from me:
1. The Mac Mini G4s aren't dual core. Also avoid the Intel Core Solo models. They are slow, and I wouldn't recommend them for the uses you suggest.