Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   iMac to Macbook Pro clone (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/235521-imac-macbook-pro-clone.html)

flriver 04-14-2011 07:53 PM

iMac to Macbook Pro clone
 
I have an iMac i3 with a 1TB hd.

Can I clone this into a Macbook Pro i7 with a 500GB hd ? How ?

Will I loose all my licenses registrations like Adobe CS5 and such ?

chscag 04-14-2011 08:06 PM

Moved to correct forum.

You can not clone the contents from your iMac onto the MBP because the hardware is different. The OS X install media is specific for the machine and its hardware. The cloning would fail.

Even if you could do it, keep in mind that many applications such as Adobe CS5 are licensed for use on one machine only. You would be violating the Adobe EULA and any others that restrict usage to one machine.

flriver 04-14-2011 08:25 PM

thank you..

The reason I purchased the iMac was that my MBP LogicBoard died. At the Apple reseller store they made an exact copy of the damaged MBP in my Mac. Shouldn't it work the same way backwards ?

bobtomay 04-14-2011 09:38 PM

Instead of trying to clone, use the Migration Assistant.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.