Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Upgrade G5 to Pro? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/234838-upgrade-g5-pro.html)

atrawick 04-07-2011 03:02 PM

Upgrade G5 to Pro?
 
Can I put a motherboard and cpu for a pro in a g5?

louishen 04-07-2011 03:39 PM

possibly, but you would have to upgrade everything else as well potentially

You would first need to make sure the power supply in both machines is compatible

It would be less hassle to find a used mac pro

pigoo3 04-07-2011 03:43 PM

Even if it could be done...it would be very very expensive. You're just not going to find a working motherboard & cpu for a Mac Pro....and if you did, it would be expensive. I don't think that I can remember ever seeing one (e-Bay or Craig's List).

The deal is...if a Mac Pro is not working (and not worth repairing)...it's most likely one of the more/most expensive parts has gone bad...like the motherboard. So what you're more likely to see available for sale are either non-working Mac Pro's (rarely)...or a stripped Mac Pro case...but unlikely a working Mac Pro motherboard that is a reasonable enough price for this sort of project.

- Nick


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.