Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Mac Pro won't turn over (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/231435-mac-pro-wont-turn-over.html)

slubig 03-06-2011 12:34 PM

Mac Pro won't turn over
 
My 2006 Mac Pro 1,1, won't turnover on power on. CPUa/b overtemp lights illuminated on logic board along with only trickle power. No other diagnostic lights turn on including power on, which leads me to suspect I have a PSU malfunction.

I posted a YouTube video of the problem:

YouTube - Mac Pro 2006 Boot Issue

I'd appreciate any feedback!

chscag 03-06-2011 01:56 PM

Nice video explanation. I wish everyone would do that - makes it a lot easier to offer assistance.

I'm no expert when it comes to a Mac Pro but it does seem like your PSU has problems. I'm not sure where you can buy a new power supply for your Mac Pro but the first place to try is the folks at ifixit. iFixit: The free repair manual If they don't have one in stock try Powerbook Medic.

I believe both resellers allow returns if it should turn out to be something else.

BrianLachoreVPI 03-06-2011 02:20 PM

I know jack diddly squat about Mac Pros - although it's a beautiful machine. I will say, however, that I had several PSUs go on me back when I had windows machines - happens all the time. Did you check with a simple voltmeter to see if you're getting the expected voltages from the PSU? Again - I don't know about Mac Pros specifically - but my old Windows boxes I could just pull the PSU - and check for the expected voltages. I would imagine you could do the same in this case to validate your concern - just as a next step?

slubig 03-06-2011 02:30 PM

I'm really hoping it's the PSU. I have it apart at the moment looking for any blown fuses and capacitors. I do have a multimeter but am at a bit of a loss of how to test. Any suggestions?

BrianLachoreVPI 03-06-2011 03:00 PM

Did you do a PRAM reset as described here? Apple - Support - Discussions - Mac pro won't boot :( ...

Regarding testing for voltages - I don't know enough about which voltages that PSU provides and on what pins to help. If you don't find the voltages - that's very telling - however, if you do, it still doesn't rule out the PSU as you may have the PSU shutting itself down under load.

harryb2448 03-06-2011 03:28 PM

PSU from your description and should set you back about $500 at an Apple reseller or do it yourself much cheaper. My Mac Pro sat in a storage container in LA prior to shipping to Australia for two years and the PSU had to be replaced. Here is one who supply the unit and instructions:-


http://www.mac-pro.com/s.nl/it.A/id.5316/.f


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.