New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

HELP Please

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

stretchphoto

stretchphoto is on a distinguished road

I've been using Macs since 1987 or so but I'm in a bind now that I can't seem to find my way out of.

Long story short - I bought 4 Power PC OS 10.5 Minis off eBay for a multimedia journalism master's thesis project. Three of the machines are flawless, the fourth came without a username or password.

I have 10.6 install disks but no 10.5 disks.

From Carbon Copy Cloner I have both a disk image of one of the good Mini's drives and an exact copy of that same entire hard disk. Both of these are stored on my MacPro. Of course I also have the three other Minis that boot.

In an attempt to get the problem Mini to boot I hooked it up in Terminal Disk mode to my MacPro and trashed the Mini's entire hard drive contents. Possibly a mistake.

Now when I boot the Mini I get either a flashing question mark or, if I hold down the Option/Alt key, two rectangles, one with a curved arrow and one with a straight arrow pointing to the right.

I've tried zapping the PRam, holding down the X key, holding down the C key, etc., etc., ad infinitum.

If anyone can help I'd be very, very grateful.

Thanks so much.

-Stretch

Stretch Photography (stills)
http://VeryStetchy.com (multimedia blog)
StretchPhoto on Vimeo (motion)
QUOTE Thanks
Lifeisabeach