Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Is My iMac 32 or 64 Bit? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/229448-my-imac-32-64-bit.html)

pokermaniac 02-13-2011 06:44 PM

Is My iMac 32 or 64 Bit?
 
I just recently purchased a new iMac, the base model for $1,199.00 at the Apple store at iMac - Buy iMac desktop computers - Apple Store (U.S.)

I am running OS X 10.6.6, and I have to download some Drivers for an M-Audio Fast Track Pro. It gives you the option to download the 32 bit version or the 64 bit version (M-AUDIO - Drivers and Software Search). I called Apple, and they sent me this link: Mac OS X v10.6: Starting up with the 32-bit or 64-bit kernel

I don't want to have to start it up every time as the article states for Method 1, so can I just download the 32 bit version? Thanks. :)

Buzzard2010 02-13-2011 06:51 PM

Everything from a Core 2 Duo upwards is 64bit, so you can certainly download the 64bit no problem.

Hope this helps

- Simon

Buzzard2010 02-13-2011 06:52 PM

P.S. this link is a lot better...

How to tell if your Intel-based Mac has a 32-bit or 64-bit processor

- Simon

Buzzard2010 02-13-2011 06:54 PM

Sorry not trying to spam this thread, but this link list pretty much every mac from coreduo Which Intel Macs have 64-bit processors? Which have a 64-bit EFI? Which are capable of booting MacOS X 10.6 "Snow Leopard" in 64-bit mode? @ EveryMac.com

- Simon

pokermaniac 02-13-2011 07:35 PM

I'm still confused as to which to download, the 32 or 64 bit driver. Under my computer info, under Software, it says "64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No." Does that mean it is running as 32 bit unless I boot up as 64 bit, and that I should download the 32 bit driver for the M-Audio Fast Track Pro?

BTW...Thank you very much for the links.

chscag 02-13-2011 08:08 PM

Quote:

Does that mean it is running as 32 bit unless I boot up as 64 bit, and that I should download the 32 bit driver for the M-Audio Fast Track Pro?
Yes, that's why Apple gave you the link on how to start Snow Leopard in 64 bit mode. While your machine is 64 bit, by default it starts up in 32 bit mode.

pokermaniac 02-13-2011 08:15 PM

Thank you....I'll download the 32 bit driver for it. I don't want to have to start it up into 64 bit mode every time.

Steve Adams 02-14-2011 01:18 PM

can you set it to boot 64 bit everytime?

McBie 02-14-2011 01:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Adams (Post 1185969)
can you set it to boot 64 bit everytime?

Yes, if you really must ....
Making 64-bit Booting on a Mac Permanent | How-To | The Mac Observer

Cheers ... McBie


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.