New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

New mac user.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

IMACFAN15

IMACFAN15 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Imac g3 500Mhz

Hi, I am new to the mac world, and just got an imac g3. It seems to run fine, in fact it is the one I am using currently. I was just wondering what is the maximum OS this can handle, and what is the maximum ram it can handle. I do know that it is a slot loading imac, but I cannot find the year, model, or anything on it. Also, how would I put firefox on this machine, and what version would I need? Thanks, Dan.
QUOTE Thanks
toMACsh

toMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to alltoMACsh is a name known to all
Mac Specs: Mac Mini Core 2 Duo

You can't run Snow Leopard, as it's Intel only, and you have a PPC. How much RAM does it have now?

Do you have the OS installation disc for the current OS?
QUOTE Thanks
Buzzard2010

Buzzard2010 is just really niceBuzzard2010 is just really niceBuzzard2010 is just really niceBuzzard2010 is just really niceBuzzard2010 is just really nice
Mac Specs: iMac 21.5" i3 500gb HDD 4gb RAM OSX 10.9.2 - iPhone 5s 16gb

If it is the iMac DV slot loading machine then the maximum RAM would be 1.0GB, Maximum OS would be 10.3 or 10.4 if it's 400mhz.