Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Dual processor G5 PPC (32bit) - can it use 8GB RAM (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/227591-dual-processor-g5-ppc-32bit-can-use-8gb-ram.html)

JackPollack 01-26-2011 12:11 PM

Dual processor G5 PPC (32bit) - can it use 8GB RAM
 
As you may have read from the post "Migration Assistant VS swapping HD" I have a dual processor G5 PPC. The Motherboard can handle up to 8GB of RAM. The CPUs are only a 32bit.

As far as I know a 32 bit OS can only access 4GB of RAM. Is it a waste to populate to 8GB, or is some kind of OS magic at work, or does each CPU get 4GB?

Thanks

pigoo3 01-26-2011 12:14 PM

No need to over-complicate things with the 32-bit talk.:) Here's a quick quote regarding the processor in Powermac G5's:

"The PowerPC 970 "G5" has 64-bit data paths and registers with native support for 32-bit application code."

There are a number of Powermac G5 models that support 8 gig of ram...plain & simple.:)

If you happen to have one of these models...no worries...it can handle 8 gig of ram.

HTH,

- Nick

technologist 01-26-2011 12:20 PM

There is no such thing as a 32-bit G5. All G5 models are 64-bit.

All dual G5 models have support for 8GB of memory.

chscag 01-26-2011 12:27 PM

According to Mactracker, the late 2005 Dual G5 machines can handle up to 16 GB of system memory. And to answer the OP's question regarding the CPU's, according to Apple they are 64 bit as technologist pointed out. It's unfortunate that Apple decided to make Snow Leopard Intel only (and I understand the reason) because it could certainly run well on that machine.

JackPollack 01-26-2011 12:28 PM

OK - Thanks


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.