New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Tidying Hard Drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cblakey

cblakey is on a distinguished road

Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to using my Mac (OS X 10.6.6, only about 7/8 months old), mainly just using iTunes, iPhoto, iMovie & Safari.

I've noticed recently that the Mac seems to be running a little slower than usual so I checked the Hard Drive (500GB capacity) to find that 270GB is in use. Is there any way to display what exactly is using that memory like you can when an iPod is connected to iTunes? I can see that iPhoto & iTunes combined is only using 25-30GB, but have been unable to find out how much is on iMovies (which only has one project).

Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
IWT

Location: Born in Scotland, Worked in Scotland then England, Now live in Wales
IWT is a jewel in the roughIWT is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 2010 27" iMac 16GB RAM, SSD & 1TB IHD (Lion) + 2013 27" iMac Fusion SSD & 3TB IHD, 32GB (Mavericks)

Using Finder (left side column) go to Mac HD/users/yourname/Movies.

There you will see all your Movies including iMovie Projects and iMovie Events.

Left Click once on each of these just to highlight each one. Then Command I (letter "eye" for Information) and you will get info on the total File Size of both iMovie Projects & iMovie Events.