New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Buying a brand new but dated iMac, good or bad idea?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Make_It_Rayne

Make_It_Rayne is on a distinguished road

I currently own a MacBook that I have had for over 2 years and while it is a good computer, it is getting old and I would like a desktop in my apartment. I'm a college student and don't really want to spend over $1000 on the new iMacs. I want to buy a new iMac Core 2 Duo (Apple iMac Core 2 Duo T7200 2.0GHz 1GB 160GB DVD±RW Radeon X1600 17" AirPort OS X w/Webcam & Bluetooth Apple MA590LL/A iMac
or a new iMac G5 (Apple M9250LL/A Apple iMac G5 M9250LL/A All-in-one Desktop PC - 20-inch Display - PowerPC 970 1.8 GHz Processor - 256 MB RAM - 160 GB Hard Drive - DVD-R/CD-RW - GeForce FX 5200 Ultra - MacOS X 10.3 - 20-inch TFT LCD Display

Would it be a bad idea to buy either of these considering they are older models, even though they are new? Will they be significantly slower for the price than the new iMacs (if so, couldn't I just get a better processor?)
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay