New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac Desktop help - Really could use the guidance!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kaydewith.uh.d

kaydewith.uh.d is on a distinguished road

Okay, I have no idea if this is the correct forum, but I figured I'd start here.

I'm a high school student, a third year photography student and have about 4000 photos. I'm no longer continuing photography at my high school as of next year, and my parents have agreed to do something about a computer with Photoshop (probably CS5). My father's office runs on PC's because they have too, so, since they run on PC's we've ALWAYS had a PC. My mom, whom I currently share a computer with, has been working on a PC for 30 years and is REALLY hesitant to switch over to a Mac. So, with that, I really could use some help. I know from research, and personal experience, that Photoshop simply runs better on Macs. I have Elements 7 on my PC and it's truly awful using it, it's so slow!! I also use CS3 on a Mac desktop at school, and it works great.