Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Upgrading processor on imac g5 intel core 2 duo (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/223364-upgrading-processor-imac-g5-intel-core-2-duo.html)

Chris2007 12-16-2010 01:10 PM

Upgrading processor on imac g5 intel core 2 duo
 
I was just wondering how difficult it is too upgrade the processor on an imac g5 core 2 duo. Would I be able to do it myself? At the moment it has an intel 2Ghz processor and I want to upgrade it to a 3Ghz processor. This is the processor I'm planning to get Intel Core i3 540 3.06GHz Processor with 4MB L3 Cache on eBay (end time 17-Dec-10 12:04:29 GMT)

s2odin 12-16-2010 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris2007 (Post 1154346)
I was just wondering how difficult it is too upgrade the processor on an imac g5 core 2 duo. Would I be able to do it myself? At the moment it has an intel 2Ghz processor and I want to upgrade it to a 3Ghz processor. This is the processor I'm planning to get Intel Core i3 540 3.06GHz Processor with 4MB L3 Cache on eBay (end time 17-Dec-10 12:04:29 GMT)

Won't work.

First, the processor is soldered onto the mobo.
Second, you have a Core2Duo. That is an i3. i3's are not backwards compatible.

Chris2007 12-16-2010 01:22 PM

****. So there is no way of increasing the processor speed?

s2odin 12-16-2010 01:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris2007 (Post 1154356)
****. So there is no way of increasing the processor speed?

May I ask why you need an extra 1ghz in processing power? Are you noticing a slower computer? If you are really frustrated with the performance I would recommend saving all you can and upgrading, as the g5's are 5ish years old and anything new would be a significant increase in speed.

Chris2007 12-16-2010 01:29 PM

It's because I'm getting poor performance in garageband 09. The sound is breaking up when I'm playing the software instruments. The playhead turns red so I know it's the processor that's overloading. I hope there's a way to fix it as I've only just bought this mac.

harryb2448 12-16-2010 03:35 PM

It is not a G5, but an Intel iMac.

Still not possible what you have, is what you have alas.

Chris2007 12-16-2010 04:33 PM

So the other option is to increase the RAM. Might that fix the problem?

harryb2448 12-16-2010 05:27 PM

Improve somewhat but not fix and iMacs are not good gaming machines.

Chris2007 12-16-2010 05:37 PM

Oh it's not for games. It's just a small problem I'm having on garageband. I posted about it above. I've checked the cpu usage when I'm using garageband and it's never above 20% so I'm pretty sure it's the RAM that's the issue. 1GB RAM is pretty low these days. Luckily it's easy to upgrade. It's worth a shot I think

brairden 12-16-2010 07:00 PM

And just to clarify, you do not have a G5 Core 2 Duo imac. G5 is an entire different architecture than the Core 2 Duo. Your machine is a Core 2 Duo imac. Might save you a little trouble finding the correct memory for your machine.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.