Imac i7 27" quick question :)
    ok i lied it's not such a quick question, my apologies

basically i have just purchased a 1tb seagate external
    im a audio engineer by trade and i have recently moved from windows (cubase) to logic 9 (amazing software ^_^)

however what i want to do is do a complete fresh install of snow leopard and optimize it for audio if thats at all possible?

and what program would you suggest to take all the applications and back them up and reinstall them on my fresh install yet keep all my old files on my external hard drive yet still be able to access those, yet keeping my iMac clean.

any help would be more than appreciated.

thanks guys

Rich

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, El Capitan
    Welcome to the Mac Forums.

however what i want to do is do a complete fresh install of snow leopard and optimize it for audio if thats at all possible?
    It isn't necessary as Snow Leopard is already optimized for audio, video, and whatever. In other words, there is no need for a "fresh" install.

and what program would you suggest to take all the applications and back them up and reinstall them on my fresh install yet keep all my old files on my external hard drive yet still be able to access those, yet keeping my iMac clean.
    As above, a fresh install is not necessary. However, you should always make backups. Use the built in Time Machine application to backup to an external hard drive.

Quote Originally Posted by chscag View Post
    Welcome to the Mac Forums.

It isn't necessary as Snow Leopard is already optimized for audio, video, and whatever. In other words, there is no need for a "fresh" install.

As above, a fresh install is not necessary. However, you should always make backups. Use the built in Time Machine application to backup to an external hard drive.