Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   ADC 30 pin to MDP cable (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/222218-adc-30-pin-mdp-cable.html)

jayjoans 12-03-2010 05:55 PM

ADC 30 pin to MDP cable
 
HELP! I just purchased a 27" iMac and want to use my older 20" Cinema Display from my G5 as a second monitor. The CD has a 30 pin male connector coming off of it, and I need to get that adapted to a Mini Displayport for the iMac.

Apple online tells me that they no longer carry that cable, and the local Apple store has absolutely no clue.

How do I get from the 30 pin (3 rows of 10, a horizontal blade with 4 pins around that) to the MDP? Is there a cable or do I have to Frankenstein something together?

Thanks for any ideas or help you can provide.

harryb2448 12-03-2010 06:03 PM

From the iMac, Mini DVI to DVI, then an Apple DVI/ADC adapter which includes power and USB leads to the display.

http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9321G/B

Then:-

http://store.apple.com/uk/product/M8661B/B

Really is a slow, complicated and old way of doing things and the ADC Studio Displays are a thing of the past, sadly. Be aware if you have to go the way suggested, you will lose some booting options whilst running the 20" display, such as single user mode etc.

pigoo3 12-03-2010 06:04 PM

Going from an ADC to mini-display port is going to be tough.

- ADC to VGA...yes.
- ADC to DVI...yes.

...but ADC to mini-display port...that's a tough one...and to be honest...I don't think that cable ever existed (at least I've not seen one).

You may be able to "Frankenstein" a combination of adapters...but you need to remember on VERY important thing...that single ADC cable from your Cinema Display provides both video and power to the monitor...and I pretty seriously doubt that mini-display ports are capable of that.

- Nick

p.s. The adapter that Harry mentioned above that adapts ADC to DVI (and provides power for the display)...costs at least $99 dollars...and probably more now that they are no longer available.

p.p.s. This is what I'm talking about:

http://www.amazon.com/Apple-M8661LL-.../dp/B00011KHT2

jayjoans 12-03-2010 06:27 PM

So do you recommend I just purchase a nice LCD display for $150 and forget this whole Cinema Display problem?

If the cables are $99 + and I lose some capabilities, it seems foolish for me to be pursuing this route.

Do you guys concur?

pigoo3 12-03-2010 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jayjoans (Post 1148877)
So do you recommend I just purchase a nice LCD display for $150 and forget this whole Cinema Display problem?

If the cables are $99 + and I lose some capabilities, it seems foolish for me to be pursuing this route.

Do you guys concur?

Yes...this is EXACTLY the advice I usually mention to folks thinking about trying to use an old ADC based Apple display with a newer Mac (but then again, some folks are really attached to their old Apple monitors).:) The cost of a modern LCD computer display (new or used) is just more cost effective than trying to continue to use an old ADC based display. Plus the newer LCD displays are so much more advanced then the old Apple ADC display's...especially when it comes to response times.

Great job on your part mentioning this!:)

- Nick

jayjoans 12-03-2010 08:29 PM

No, the great job is attributed to you guys that responded to my question. In a matter of minutes you responded with your expertise which made the ultimate decision clear.

Thanks to MacForums and those that responded. :D

pigoo3 12-03-2010 08:42 PM

Glad to help.:)

- Nick

harryb2448 12-03-2010 09:29 PM

And YES again.

I have gone this way jayjoans and really there is no joy using the DVI/ADC adapter, great hulking thing it is.

pigoo3 12-03-2010 09:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by harryb2448 (Post 1148950)
I have gone this way jayjoans and really there is no joy using the DVI/ADC adapter, great hulking thing it is.

I got one too Harry...it's a real BEAST/octopus of an adapter with all those wires.;) But I like having it as a "just in case" sort of item.

- Nick

harryb2448 12-03-2010 10:08 PM

Nick I got a cupboard full of them 'just in case' dooverlackies.

pigoo3 12-03-2010 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by harryb2448 (Post 1148968)
Nick I got a cupboard full of them 'just in case' dooverlackies.

Me too!!!...I have boxes & boxes of that stuff...taking up too much space!:(

- Nick


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.