Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Upgrading my MacPro (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/221775-upgrading-my-macpro.html)

john_croat 11-29-2010 12:20 PM

Upgrading my MacPro
 
I am working in Photoshop CS5, with files as large as 1,7 GB, over 400 layers, 300 dpi, 100*150 cm.
I would like to upgrade my Mac so I could enhance its performance.
Currently I have a Mac Pro OSX 10.6.5, 2*2,4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 6 GB 1066 MHZ z DDR3.

I was thinking of buying additional 24 GB RAM, and a ssd disk of at least 100 GB space.

Any better solutions?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

harryb2448 11-29-2010 03:54 PM

G'day John and welcome to the forums.

The SSD drive for sure - waiting on mine now.

Memory should be ample if increased to say 12GB and 24GB will be overkill. Perhaps also a new nVidia GTX285 graphics card?

http://www.nvidia.com/object/product...or_mac_us.html

john_croat 11-29-2010 04:38 PM

Thank you for such rapid reply.
Do you think getting 16GB would be too much? I am working in AfterEffects, Photoshop and Zbrush at the same time, so when I am already going for more RAM why not go for 16? :)

About nvidia, I just bought this comp and it has a ATI Radeon HD 5770, I will give it same time..

Thanx.

harryb2448 11-29-2010 05:10 PM

As a suggestion download a widget entitled iStat Pro and crank up your various applications and check through Dashboard how much memory is free, if any. Personally have yet to see anything 12GB cannot handle but as you say the more the merrier I guess. Here is an interesting article on memory:-

http://www.streaminglearningcenter.c...h-.html?page=2

john_croat 11-30-2010 09:58 AM

One more question before I buy this,

2*8 GB modules or 4*4GB? They say their modules work best when combined with the same kind, so maybe I should take out the ones i have and replace them with new, or can I just add 6GB and hope they will work well together?

And for the SSd disc, I was thinking of going for Mercury Extreme Pro 240Gb.

Mac Pro Memory ? Apple Mac Pro Xeon Quad-Core, 6-Core, 8-Core, and 12-Core Memory Upgrades High-Performance Multi-Channel ECC Kits up to 64GB

Thanks again.

harryb2448 11-30-2010 03:28 PM

Suggest just adding the 6GB. Should you get a module fail, you would be in a real pickle with 2 x 8GB modules as Mac Pros require matched pairs. I have ordered the same Mercury Extreme.

50voltphantom 12-02-2010 01:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by harryb2448 (Post 1146792)
As a suggestion download a widget entitled iStat Pro and crank up your various applications and check through Dashboard how much memory is free, if any. Personally have yet to see anything 12GB cannot handle but as you say the more the merrier I guess. Here is an interesting article on memory:-

Apple Mac Pro - How Much Memory is Enough?

That is really interesting. Seriously. Has me reconsidering bumping my eMac to 2GB.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.