New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

How much ram is too much ram??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bostok

bostok is on a distinguished road

Hey all, I am a professional ad photographer and I do a lot of imaging and I am thinking of getting the imac with 16gb of 1333 ram. Is that overkill?
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

It's not overkill but I can not see ever using that much memory even for large images. If you do decide on adding that much memory, be sure to buy it from a reliable third party reseller like OWC or Crucial and not directly from Apple. You might want to think about starting out with 8 GB first to see if that is adequate for your needs.
QUOTE Thanks
CrimsonRequiem