New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

G4 No Video after 15mins of Owenership HELP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MACn0ob

MACn0ob is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: PowerMac G4 400MHz 896MB RAM WOOHOO

Hello ALL

I am new to the mac forums and the mac os. Long time linux user so I am enjoying apples os so far. Here is my dilemma I am currently faced with.I traded a pc for an old G4 tower 400MHzcpu, had it running to verify functionality, yada yada,seemed to be working just fine. Drove 5mins home, hookedup to my acer 24" cinema display, NO video..Ok so I tried to turn it off various troubleshooting techniques, nothing. I then decsided to remove some RAM, still no video, tried another monitor, nothing, another video card, nothing. Unit boots up, starup noise sounds, but NO video. I don't understand, it was just running and 15mins later no video. I did notice that the video card was a little loose upon connecting, could this of possibly shorted the video out? ..also to note that I am not booting with a keyboard or mouse (not that it should matter) Also there is a bright red light on rite by the RAM slots.

I am completely bedazzled rite now. Calling all Mac Users, help !
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7