New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

F1-F9 and RIGHT SHIFT not working


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
jimmyrare

 
Member Since: Sep 23, 2010
Posts: 5
jimmyrare is on a distinguished road

jimmyrare is offline
A while ago F1-F9 and RIGHT SHIFT stopped responding.
I've looked around for a solution, but all threads about it ends with no solution.

And, yes, I have "use f1 f2 keys as standard function keys" unchecked!

Fwiw F10-F12 for volume/mute still works...
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 41,394
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

chscag is offline
Which machine? Model, year, and tell us what version of OS X you're using.
Assuming you have a desktop Mac, what kind of keyboard?
QUOTE Thanks
jimmyrare

 
Member Since: Sep 23, 2010
Posts: 5
jimmyrare is on a distinguished road

jimmyrare is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by chscag View Post
Which machine? Model, year, and tell us what version of OS X you're using.
Assuming you have a desktop Mac, what kind of keyboard?
iMac, Intel Core i3, bought it a month ago.
Mac OS X 10.6.4
The keyboard is the one I got with it, AppleWirelessKeyboard
QUOTE Thanks
jimmyrare

 
Member Since: Sep 23, 2010
Posts: 5
jimmyrare is on a distinguished road

jimmyrare is offline
bump to get some help
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 41,394
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

chscag is offline
Since you bought the machine a month ago, it's still under warranty. Make an appointment with your local Apple store genius and have them look at it. You could have a defective keyboard, which if it is, they'll give you a new one.
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7

 
dtravis7's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 04, 2005
Location: Modesto, Ca.
Posts: 27,913
dtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: iMac 2.4 C2D 10.10.1, iMac 2.16 C2d 10.6.8, Macbook2007 10.8.4, Mac Mini 10.8.4, iPhone 3GS Note 8!!

dtravis7 is offline
Quick question, Did any liquid spill/Splash on the keyboard? Do you have another keyboard you can try like a USB keyboard?
QUOTE Thanks
jimmyrare

 
Member Since: Sep 23, 2010
Posts: 5
jimmyrare is on a distinguished road

jimmyrare is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtravis7 View Post
Quick question, Did any liquid spill/Splash on the keyboard? Do you have another keyboard you can try like a USB keyboard?
Nothing spilled.

Same problem with other keyboards.
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 41,394
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

chscag is offline
That no longer sounds like a hardware problem if you've tried other keyboards and the same thing occurs. What software have you installed lately? Have you made any modifications to the system in any way? And, as you were advised in the first replies, the machine is under warranty. If you can't resolve it, you might want to let Apple look at it.
QUOTE Thanks
jimmyrare

 
Member Since: Sep 23, 2010
Posts: 5
jimmyrare is on a distinguished road

jimmyrare is offline
The only software I can think of that may cause a conflict is VMWare Fusion which I use to run Windows 7
QUOTE Thanks
mac9

 
Member Since: Jan 17, 2011
Posts: 3
mac9 is on a distinguished road

mac9 is offline
I have the same issue. I think it must be software related as I'm using a macbook and not an iMac with keyboard.

Anybody got a solution?

thanks
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich

 
Aptmunich's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 09, 2004
Location: Munich
Posts: 9,073
Aptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2

Aptmunich is offline
First of all, install the 10.6.6 update if you haven't yet - it's good housekeeping.
Next: have you tried checking and unchecking that box?
QUOTE Thanks
mac9

 
Member Since: Jan 17, 2011
Posts: 3
mac9 is on a distinguished road

mac9 is offline
Yes I've tried ticking the box - didnt work.

I've tried the "press f2 & f3 randomly whilst booting" - didn't work.

I've tried resetting PRAM (option-cmd-p-r and hold down whilst booting and let it chime a few times) - didn't work.

Not tried 10.6.6 update as I'm only 10.5.8 and that would require me to buy Snow Leopard. Was hoping for a free fix!

It used to work when I got the Macbook (1997 white one). I was on 10.4 at the time and suddenly f1 to f9 plus right shift stopped working.

10.5 upgrade made no difference so I'm reluctant to buy 10.6 on the chance it will fix it.

There's many forum entries online about this but no good answers.

Thanks for your reply though.
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich

 
Aptmunich's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 09, 2004
Location: Munich
Posts: 9,073
Aptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2

Aptmunich is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac9 View Post
Yes I've tried ticking the box - didnt work.

I've tried the "press f2 & f3 randomly whilst booting" - didn't work.

I've tried resetting PRAM (option-cmd-p-r and hold down whilst booting and let it chime a few times) - didn't work.

Not tried 10.6.6 update as I'm only 10.5.8 and that would require me to buy Snow Leopard. Was hoping for a free fix!

It used to work when I got the Macbook (1997 white one). I was on 10.4 at the time and suddenly f1 to f9 plus right shift stopped working.

10.5 upgrade made no difference so I'm reluctant to buy 10.6 on the chance it will fix it.

There's many forum entries online about this but no good answers.

Thanks for your reply though.
Sorry, I meant the other guy who said he was on 10.6.4.
10.5.8 should of course work too. Have you tried the usual troubleshooting stuff (repair permissions, delete plist file etc)?
QUOTE Thanks
mac9

 
Member Since: Jan 17, 2011
Posts: 3
mac9 is on a distinguished road

mac9 is offline
I've just tried repairing permissions - made no difference.

When you say delete plist file - which one? I tried the keyboard plist file and that didn't do it.

cheers
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« iMac DVD stuck - desperate help needed! | Imac Depreciation? »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?