New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac and AppleCare

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Geeker0358

Geeker0358 is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I am going to buy my first iMac and I have been reading a lot of websites about the AppleCare. It seems I can get it for $135 from Amazon.com and it will extend my warranty for 3-years with onsite service that covers parts and labor charges.

I work in IT so I've never gotten a warranty for any PC as I've never needed one. But I don't know anything about Macs as I've never had one before. A lot of the warranty discussions I've seen state that you should get the AppleCare if you have a laptop, but not if you have a Desktop.

As far as PCs go I can relate to that because a laptop PC is a lot harder to repair then a Desktop PC. So I assume the same must be true for Macs. However, my iMac although it's a desktop, doesn't look like it's going to be very easy to repair. I mean I can't even replace the hard drive without ripping the entire computer apart and causing who knows what kind of damage to the machine.

I've seen youtube videos on how to replace a hard drive in an iMac and it appears there is just too much that can go wrong. I also don't know if I feel safe popping off the huge 21.5'' screen.