New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac G3 help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gappage

gappage is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I'm a bit new to all this Mac stuff but have tinkered around with computers for a few years now and have had a 24" iMac for the last year that has been alot of fun.

Anyway, my other half (Graphic Designer) bought me home a Sage iMac G3 the other day that her company were throwing out. (I love the design of them).

I wanted to try and set it up for the kids to use (and also for me to have a play with as well).

It is running OS9.2 but the main problem is that when it boots up it has two usernames (people that have long since left work) and we dont know the passwords for either of them.

Until i can get past this point then i have no idea about any more of the spec of the machine or what else i can do with it - i.e. maybe upgrade to Tiger.

Can anyone help - i have no idea where to start and at the moment it is a rather cumbersome door stop.

Thanks in advance,
Gappage.

Apologies if i have this thread in the wrong place - not sure where to put it - is it hardware or software?
QUOTE Thanks
Kevriano

Kevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to all