New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac Vs PowerMac???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

SonicIndustries

SonicIndustries is an unknown at this point

Hello to all,

I am looking for some opinion and advise before purchasing one or the other.
Either the iMac or PowerMac.

I'm new to apple machines, i do not currently own one but I am planning to make the switch and treat myself to a iMac or PowerMac in the next few weeks. Before i make that decision I thought it prudent to take gather some opinion from the people in the know, users and enthusiasts aka anybody reading this thread.

Regarding the PowerMac option, obviosly there is a price difference, If I go for a medium spec PowerMac is it possible to upgrade the components at a later date? Or would it be better to postpone my purchase and buy a higher spec machine at a date?

Look forward to hearing your thoughts...

Thank you...
QUOTE Thanks
martyp

martyp is a jewel in the roughmartyp is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MBP 15" Retina, iPhone 6 128Gb, iPad Air 2 128Gb, NEC PA322UHD

Hi there,

If you are comparing a PowerMac to a new iMac or pretty much any recent Intel iMac, the iMac would be better choice hands down.

You can only upgrade the older POWER machines so far and most Mac software is moving to the Intel architecture.
QUOTE Thanks
harryb2448