New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

++++Problems with Installing Adobe....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

m4cs

m4cs is on a distinguished road

I'm a lifelong Windows user just switched to a Macbook Pro 15., Still a bit nervous mind.... but I am happy so far so good!!!

I hope to glean a lot from this forum, please go easy on me, as I said i am new to this....anyways first problem!!My friend has got me a copy of adobe creative suite 3 as well as a few other programs, he has put the programs on my laptop, but they can not install!!
This is a brand new laptop, only 4 weeks old does any one have an idea as to why it will not install?>

A drowning man will clutch at a straw.....in my opinion if he clutched the mac he would be alive....
QUOTE Thanks
scathe

scathe is a jewel in the roughscathe is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 2,4Ghz 15" unibody

unless you provide info of what exactly the files are, then we can't effectively help you

you should either have a cd/dvd which mounts "to your desktop" and you can access the installer

or you have some sort of a .dmg file which again you mount by double clicking and accessing the installer

on the Mac most other software won't even have an installer (the Adobe suit is just complex and uses lot's of resources), for most applications you just copy the .app from a .dmg to your Applications folder and you're set to go