New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Restart/Login problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

atmega-ist

atmega-ist is on a distinguished road

Hello, all -

I'm VERY new to mac/leopard and am having some trouble logging in. My brother and I share an iMac and both have user accounts. The computer was left idle while he was logged in and now every time it wakes up or powers on it asks for his password. He's not available during the week so I can't have him log in and then back out. Is there any way I can get back to the user selection to select my account and log in? I do know he didn't have anything running when it went to sleep so we're not at risk of losing any data.

I've tried restarting with different combinations of ctrl/cmd/option pressed and, of course, by just holding the power button but everything brings me back to a login window populated with his username and will only accept his password.

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
Collin Bl

Collin Bl is a jewel in the roughCollin Bl is a jewel in the roughCollin Bl is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 27 iMac i5, MBP 13 & iMac 20, 2TB dual TC, AppleTV, iPh4S