New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

What to do?? Mac Pro or iMac i7 or...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

s3p

s3p is on a distinguished road

My wife just bought me a Mac Pro 8core to replace my G5 w/the Power PC chip. Was it a good move? I'm a photographer in need of some speed n power, but I'm thinking it was an over kill. Not to mention, I started it up and my 30" cinema display blew out.

Asking advise from any and everyone. What should I do, keep it or get the iMac i7?
QUOTE Thanks
martyp

martyp is a jewel in the roughmartyp is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MBP 15" Retina, iPhone 6 128Gb, iPad Air 2 128Gb, NEC PA322UHD

I feel mine is overkill, also use it for Photography.

If it was available in January when I bought mine I would've gone for the 27" iMac w/i7. Photoshop and Lightroom can't make use of 8 cores and the iMacs can take a lot of RAM now too...
QUOTE Thanks
Mac Pro

Mac Pro is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 27" iMac Quad Core i7 2.8 ghz 1TB HDD

It is a hard choice, but I think I would stay with the mac pro due to some of the issues the iMac is having. I love the mac pro, but decided the iMac was a better investment for me as I don't need all of the power of the mac pro.
QUOTE Thanks
baggss