New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Optimizing and Defraging

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

deerman92

deerman92 is on a distinguished road

Hi i am new to macs and was just wondering what is a good program to optimize and defrag the mac computer. I have an older G3 with 400MHz processor and 256 Mb of ram. It is running OS X 10.4.11. It is very sluggish on youtube videos and other things on the internet. Is this just the computers inability to do such things or does it just need more ram. Thank you.
QUOTE Thanks
Slydude

Slydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.8,3 8 GB mem, 2.66 GHz Mac Pro - Dead, iPhone 4

Welcome,

It is a bit of both I am afraid. 256 MB of ram is meager for any modern version of OS X. Extra memory wouldn't hurt. Even with the extra memory though that 400 MHz G3 is going to have trouble with video sites such as youtube.

Sylvester Roque Former Contributing Editor About This Particular Macintosh

"Got Time to breathe. You got time for music." Denver Pyle as Briscoe Darling
QUOTE Thanks
baggss