New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Power Mac - Powermac G5 Or Mac Mini

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

joelyoung94

joelyoung94 is an unknown at this point

Im debating whether to buy a powermac g5 with dual core 2ghz processer and 8gb ram and 500gb hd or to get the basic mac mini.
I will be plugging it into a full hd 32'' lg tv. I will also buy the mac keyboard and mouse.
I am new to macs and have never owned one before i know the powermac cant run snow leopard but it has great spec, will i be happy just on leopard? Im only 15 and will be using stuff like imovie itunes safari garageband and all the other mac stuff hopefully for games.
Thank You and i look foward to hearing some good advice.

-Joel

Edit- Also is there anyway i could change the processor or update the powermac g5 and hopefully be able to use snow leopard once ive done that.
QUOTE Thanks
martyp

martyp is a jewel in the roughmartyp is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MBP 15" Retina, 2.3GHz i7, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, 750GT. iPhone 5S 64Gb Gold

No brainer bro, Mac Mini all the way!

BTW: G5s will never be able to run SL. Faster CPUs are expensive and very rare for these too.
QUOTE Thanks
joelyoung94

ok Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3