New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac Pro - Hard drive full. Why?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

rick777

rick777 is on a distinguished road

I'm new to macs, always had a PC before. I have a mac book pro 2008.

My hard drive seems to have filled up and I can't account for it. What is the quickest way to see where all the large files have been placed on the computer?

Also, I regularly do software updates for the mac, and these always seem to be anywhere up to 200 mb per update and I've done loads of these updates. Are these updates partially responsible for filling up my HD?
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick777 View Post
I'm new to macs, always had a PC before. I have a mac book pro 2008.

My hard drive seems to have filled up and I can't account for it. What is the quickest way to see where all the large files have been placed on the computer?