New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Power Mac - desperate for G5 solutions...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

migrations53

migrations53 is on a distinguished road

hi. I'm new here. But desperate for some solutions or suggestions...
I have 2 Power Mac G5s. One is a 1.6 single processor from 2004, the newer one is a 2.3 dual (2005). Both have problems.
I switched to the 2.3 for more power as I am a composer and use mem-heavy samples. The 1.6 used to make loud sudden crashing noises when I used my sequencer program and samples, it was awful.
I had been using the 2.3 for everything until the other day when it started to freeze. Then within a few hours I couldn't boot.
So I switched the two discs in it (which seem ok) to the 1.6 just to be able to work, although it's useless for music audio work and I cannot get any sound. Also, programs (anything, browsers, applications, music notation program...) all just vanish from the screen regularly so I have to save almost every few seconds to be sure not to lose anything. Hopeless.

Now, the big problem with the 2.3. It now has 1.5gig RAM. (Before, it had 3gig) I have a useable disc in it which booted up just once in the hundreds of times I tried, into OS 10.4.11. Nearly all the times I try, it fails to boot. Most times nothing appears on the screen. The next best is the apple screen. But now it never gets past the apple screen.